FPSPlayer No movement but sound

Pamina

Hi All

I admit I am a newbie to Leadwerks so apologies if my question is trivial. I have tried searching the Forums for an answer.

I have the Pro version of Leadwerks and am using it mostly as a learning tool. I do have some long term aspirations for a research project that may require the use of the engine. I have therefore only dabbled and am learning Lua script from a recently purchased book at the same time. I am finding the engine very versatile and great fun. I have been working through Jon Theunissen's excellent Youtube tutorials on Lua scripting.

When I make a small map I want to drop the FPSPlayer into the scene to test it. I generally start a new project from the project manager. When I drop the FPSPlayer from the Assets/prefab/player folder onto the scene and press the Run button to test, I do get the walking sound but no movement. I have checked the FPSPlayer is present in the Scene/Models tab and the script is set to 'FPSPlayer.lua' Something is obviously working since I do get the walking sound but I cannot move or rotate the camera. What am I doing wrong?. Again apologies for such a trivial question but I am stuck.

Thanks in advance

I am certainly not aware that I have a camera. I haven't placed one myself and I am not seeing a camera object. Might I have a corrupt file in my install ? I have had a look at the Lua script for FPSPlayer but its very long and somewhat beyond me at present. I have considered deleting and reinstalling Leadwerks ?

Not trying to sound like a broken record, but this really does sound like you have a camera in your scene, in which case your camera would stay put because of course, the main camera that's being used isn't actually moving... and yes you would still hear the footsteps of the character controller.