JohnBobSmith

How hard would it be to write my own game engine in C++?

Hello all. So like, I've tried Leadwerks. And I find it... interesting. My biggest setbacks is lack of good, high quality learning material (and I have searched hard for it). Maybe I'm looking in all the wrong places, I'm not sure. Another setback, for me at least, is that it crashes constantly on my system. And because I'm using Linux Mint, I cant report bugs.

So my solution is this: Write my own game engine. I'm by no means an expert at software development, nor have I ever gone to school to learn software development. I'm an enthusiast/hobbyist programmer. I would like to adventure into game design and such.

The requirements for this engine are as follows:

-Must be 3D

-Must use OpenGL

-Must be easy to use with LOTS of documentation

-Must be relatively powerful for someone of my experience level.

-Single player for now.

-Linux only for now (I have no Windows machines available to test on).

I've used SDL, and find it fairly straight forward. OpenGL is a step up from SDL, but I doubt it will be that hard to learn.

Now, my questions are as follows:

-How hard would writing a game engine be? I'm expecting to have to do a LOT of work. I doubt it will be less than 300,000 lines of code. Not to mention all the dev tools I'd have to write as well.

-What sorts of libraries exist to make the proccess easier?

-Are there any good open source engines for Linux that I could use as a base?

-How hard would physics be to implement? I want a moderate degree of physics. Like rag dolls, somewhat realistic object destruction and movement, stuff along those lines. No vehicles for now.

-What sorts of file formats are easy to support and use? I'm thinking I would like to use something that blender can natively export, and targa or dds for image textures.