Michael Betke

Enhanced Level Stats

Hidden

I would like to see some more infos for debuggin and watching the technical stuff on my level. I know I can enable "extended" stats but it's still very liited.

I would like to see:

FPS, RAM and VRAM usage for current level.

Drawcalls

Plus the stuff which is already included.

It does not have to something like Nvidias Perfect Hud ( http://developer.nvidia.com/object/nvperfhud_home.html ) or with fancy bars but simple Infos to evaluate bottlenecks, overall performance and budget better. :)

Hidden

You could use SetStats(2) in framewerk, it shows "memory free" and "memory used" also.

FPS() exists too.

GameLib provides also CountAllEntities() which can be useful to see if your temporary entities are getting freed, like bullets.

Those can be used in Editor also, but you would need to write an entity script for that.

Hidden

Sorry I have NO idea of coding or such stuff. I'm an artist only and never had to bother with such stuff.

Coding and Character modelling are two big things in my life I'll never learn. :)

Hidden

The RAM is already displayed. I don't think there is any way to retrieve the VRAM used.

I think the most useful thing could be to show the time various subroutines take, like drawing terrain, drawing vegetation, shadows, etc. NVidia also has performance queries, so you can tell how long something takes on the GPU.

Hidden

The RAM is already displayed. I don't think there is any way to retrieve the VRAM used.

Yes you can! :)

If you can utilize the .Net Performance counters, you can get the working set and the virtual set used. I haven't done research to verify their accuracy, but it provides options! (And, don't re-declare the object in a loop. This is just an example)

System.Diagnostics.Process Process = new System.Diagnostics.Process();
Process = System.Diagnostics.Process.GetCurrentProcess();
DrawText(Process.VirtualMemorySize64, 0, 70);
DrawText(Process.WorkingSet64, 0, 90);