Roland

Suggestion for a fast Linux PC

I'll bet anything new will do ( you didn't say your budget ;) ), but I would avoid, AMD gfx (seems to be problematic from time to time) and intel integrated cards since they are a bit slow.

I'm upgrading my PC later this year. Just adding new parts rather than a completely new setup.

Good luck.

I have been doing this for the last 5 years. Gave it more memory one year, updated the PSU the other (cause the one in it died), and an SSD, new GPU, and new heatsink this year. If you take care of something, it will take care of you.

First, look at motherboards. You'll need to know what socket of CPU you'll need. Anything on the market today is better than what you or I have, but make sure you get the most bang for your buck, and has features you'll want.

Should look on some linux forums to read people suggestions and opinions when it comes to processors with linux. I tried both an Intel and an AMD CPU with Ubuntu and had zero problems with both. For games, shoot for a quad core processor with 4GB or higher of RAM. Also, a GPU from Nvidia since they don't break their OpenGL drivers as much, also more features like DSR (If the linux drivers support that.)