Rick

Downgrade win 8 to win 7

Trying to do this on a friends computer. I've never done it before and can't seem to get it going. She has an HP laptop. I downloaded Win 7 32 bit home iso, and used this MS tool to make it bootable from a usb drive.

I change the boot order to USB first, but it never seems to hit the USB drive with the Win 7 installation. Any ideas?

Is there any sensitive data on the disk(s)? As in, is your friend particularly against nuking the drive? (Probably best to check first...) The way you say downgrade as opposed to dual boot, implies win 8 is totally unwanted on the system...

They are new and have nothing. She says nuke away. I'm not sure how to do that however. My concern is also if I clear Win 8 off, and can't seem to boot from this pen drive, I would be screwed then :)

From XP and Vista times it was just a case of downloading GParted Live to a disc (it's a bootable image) then telling it to format the partition containing the bootsector. Then, presumably you would insert your Windows 7 CD because without any boot information on the hard drive it will probably go into the installer, where you should be able to install Windows as if there was nothing on the computer. Obviously your disc needs to be a retail or OEM disc, and not an upgrade (if they still do them), and you'll need a code that isn't in use. Certainly in the old days, retail, upgrade and OEM all had different product registration keys and weren't interchangeable with each other.

Just a warning though, a laptop may require an additional driver for the hard drive. If you put her exact laptop model number into google along with Windows 7 downgrade or dual boot, other people who have already tried this may know whether such a driver is needed, and where to get it. If it's needed you won't be able to install Windows without it, so definitely check that out before formatting the boot partition.