Novice Questions

gamedev123

Hello all - new to the forums, and so a few ubernovice questions. I did a lot of Google searching, but I'm unsure of what information pertains to versions of Leadwerks prior to 3.0... Hoping a forum dweller might be able to help me sort it out. Sorry if I missed a FAQ somewhere.

Background:

I'm a game designer and gameplay content scripter, currently using Corona SDK (and hence, Lua). I've used Lua a few other times, primarily with support from a programming team working in C++ or Objective-C, and shooting me Lua scripts from time to time. This time I'm planning to work on a project solo - with a little support from a contract programmer. I am attracted to Leadwerks due to the comprehensive Lua scripting tutorials on the youtube and the web (albeit for Leadwerks v2.3).

I just wanted to ask a few questions pertaining to Lua support and more recent Lua scripting documentation for Leadwerks v3.0

- can a complete game be created with Lua script? No C++ required? For all supported platforms?

- are scripts still compiled into .luac (and are there any other obfuscation tools available?)

- can I create and/or heavily modify first and third person controllers from Lua? (I will be creating a 'floating' first-person character that turns freely but 'snaps' to face in the direction of compass headings.

- my enemies require pathfinding that uses floor, ceiling and walls. Is this possible with default pathfinding and navmeshes? And accessible from Lua?

Thanks for any info that you folks can provide. Even better if you can point me to extensive Lua docs for v3.0!!!

[edit] Are the old v2.3 Lua tutorials on youtube still relevant? They are very extensive!

Hi.

I also use Lua only with Leadwerks 3.

-Yes you can make a complete game using Lua.

-For character controller, you can control it from Lua as you use same functions as C++, and control speed, direction, jumping

To float, perhaps putting physic Mass to 0 should work,i don't tried it.