Starting my first map (without a tutorial!)

TerraformerX

Hi everyone. This is my first attempt at making a level. I know it's just a simple map, and I don't plan on using it to make a real game, but it's just to practice my new skills. Anyway, I started an "Advanced First-Person Shooter" project using that template, and it automatically created two boxes, a floor and a block.

I've programmed for years, but I've never been serious about game design until about 2 weeks ago. I decided to give Leadwerks a try after a website listed it as a decent game engine ( --- that also runs on Linux --- ) emphasis added.

I have a few questions:

1. Do you suggest I leave the "floor" box at that elevation? It looks like its top side's y coordinate is at 0, if I'm assuming the correct coordinate system. I can see the grid on the top face of the floor, which looks bad.

2. Should I leave the thickness of the floor alone? It looks like it protrudes below the grid plane a ways. Are there good reasons for this?

3. When I have multiple projects, do I have to install addons for each project? That would waste a lot of storage. Is it possible to leave these models/materials/prefab/etc. in a higher parent directory, so that they can use them without wasting unnecessary storage capacity?

Thanks, looks awesome so far.

Hellow.

1) You can create level anywhere, I guess. It doesn't matter, where your level would be. I guess the only reason why grid is in 3d view is that you can see grid level.

2) Umh, I didn't get this, but if you're asking can it go through 3d grid: 3d doesn't mean anything.

3) I'm curious about this too.

I am not silly. My english is just not really great. T_T

But I'm learning! :D

Hellow.

1) You can create level anywhere, I guess. It doesn't matter, where your level would be. I guess the only reason why grid is in 3d view is that you can see grid level.

2) Umh, I didn't get this, but if you're asking can it go through 3d grid: 3d doesn't mean anything.